Firm News

River Run Law Attorney Named “Go-To” Workers Compensation Lawyer

River Run Law’s Casey Ariail is named on Virginia Lawyers Weekly’s “Go-To Lawyers” list. Virginia Lawyers Weekly researches attorneys in Virginia to honor as “Go-To Lawyers.”  These attorneys are listed on the publication’s website. The latest docket of honorees names “go to” workers compensation attorneys. Workers’ compensation attorneys work to protect the interests of both claimants and defendants.  Casey represents employees who have suffered on-the-job injuries and various personal injury-related claims. Casey earned this honor by demonstrating nuanced knowledge of workers’ compensation law, as well as professionalism and success in the industry. Other must-haves to be named a Virginia Lawyers Weekly “Go-To Lawyers” are: Multiple successfully tried cases, Multiple referrals from other attorneys, and A creative approach to the practice area. Casey is a founding partner at River Run Law.  Throughout his career, he has won millions of dollars for his clients through trial, mediation, and settlements.  In addition to his success as a workers compensation attorney, Casey is very involved in the Richmond legal community.  Casey was named a “Go-To Lawyer” alongside 20 of his peers. River Run Law Group is proud to work with a “go-to” lawyer like Casey. Read more about Casey Ariail here.

Continue Reading
Car Accident

Virginia Car Insurance Laws: Do You Need Car Insurance in Virginia?

The Commonwealth of Virginia is one of the few U.S. states that does not require motorists to carry auto liability insurance. If you choose not to purchase car insurance, you must pay an extra fee each year, along with your vehicle registration. Although you can legally drive without car insurance in Virginia, you face a significant risk of legal and financial liability should you cause a car accident. If you get hurt in a car accident that wasn’t your fault, the bigger concern will be whether the at-fault party has car insurance. Through an insurance claim or a civil suit, you could recover compensation for your injuries, lost income, pain and suffering, and more. An experienced Virginia car accident lawyer from River Run Law can help you get the justice you deserve and maximize your financial compensation. Understanding the Virginia Car Insurance Laws In Virginia, you must either carry auto liability insurance according to the Commonwealth’s minimum coverage requirements or you must pay a fee to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Minimum insurance coverage requirements are as follows: Bodily injury/death (per person) of $25,000; Bodily injury/death (two or more people) of $50,000; and Property damage of $20,000. Under the Virginia car insurance laws, auto policies must also include coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorists, with limits that equal the policy’s limits of liability. However, the law provides you with the right to refuse this coverage. Based on the Commonwealth’s lax requirements for auto insurance, however, carrying uninsured motorist coverage makes good sense. If you elect to forgo car insurance coverage, you must pay an uninsured motor vehicle fee to the DMV when you register your vehicle. What Is the Virginia Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee? If you register a vehicle but you don’t currently have auto insurance, the DMV imposes an Uninsured Motor Vehicle Fee of $500. This fee is assessed in addition to the registration fees. Paying this fee serves one purpose: It allows you to register a vehicle without having insurance coverage. This fee expires with your registration each year and must be paid upon renewal to keep your registration valid. If you cause an accident while driving without insurance, you are personally liable for any damage that occurs as a result. You will also face penalties from the DMV. What Happens If You Don’t Have Car Insurance in Virginia? If you register a vehicle and state that you have insurance when you actually don’t, the DMV will assess fines and fees of approximately $750. You will also face the suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration privileges. The DMV will also require you to keep insurance coverage in force continuously for three years from the date of your violation. To prove valid coverage, you must file the SR-22 Proof of Insurance and Financial Liability form during that period. If you cause or contribute to a motor vehicle collision while driving without insurance in Virginia, you are personally liable for any damages that result. The victims can sue you for damages, and if they prevail, you could face having a judgment entered against you. This can significantly affect your credit score and lead to liens, wage garnishments, and bank levies. Contact a Virginia Car Accident Lawyer Today for Help If you suffered injuries in a Virginia car accident, contact the experienced personal injury attorneys of River Run Law as quickly as possible. We can help you navigate the complexities of personal injury claims and lawsuits. We fight to protect your legal rights and get you every dollar possible for your injuries and other damages. Call or contact us online today for a free consultation and case review or to discuss the Virginia car insurance laws and requirements with one of our experienced car accident attorneys.

Continue Reading
Car Accident

Should I Call My Insurance Company After a Car Accident?

Whenever you are involved in a car accident in Virginia, it is important that you contact your auto insurance agent or carrier as soon as possible. This imperative applies whenever there is any type of damage or injury, no matter who was at fault. The Commonwealth of Virginia allows drivers to operate their vehicles on the roadway even if they don’t meet the state requirements for carrying car insurance. So after an accident you may wonder, Should I call my insurance if it wasn’t my fault? The fact that Virginia law does not require drivers to carry insurance means that the answer is yes. Even if you didn’t cause your accident, your auto insurance company could have to pay out for your injuries and other damages if the other driver is uninsured. Notifying them immediately is the first step to making sure your claim gets paid in a timely manner. If you have questions about what your next steps should be after an injury accident, contact River Run Law to speak to one of our experienced Virginia car accident attorneys. Our firm is committed to providing our clients with the highest possible level of professionalism, responsiveness, quality, and value. Contact us now to schedule a free consultation and case evaluation. Should I Call My Insurance Company After a Minor Accident? If another party (or parties) was at fault for an injury accident, you should report the incident to their insurance company as soon as possible. This can help establish the legal basis for your claim. However, you must also report any accident to your own insurance carrier. Consult your policy documents or contact your insurance agent to learn more about your specific reporting requirements. When you contact the insurance company, provide them with basic information only. This typically includes the date, time, and location of the accident. It also includes contact information for other involved parties. You should not, however, speculate about why the accident occurred or who was at fault. Do not provide a recorded statement, even to your own insurance company, until you speak with an attorney. Why Is Reporting a Virginia Car Accident to Your Insurance Company Critical? Many insurance companies limit the time you have to report an accident. Even if you aren’t sure whether your insurer imposes this requirement, it’s always better to be safe. But who pays for your injuries, lost income, emotional trauma, etc., if the at-fault party doesn’t have insurance? If you have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, you could recover the compensation you need from your own auto insurance company. Accident victims often ask us, Should I call my insurance if it wasn’t my fault? Again, the answer is yes. Call your insurance company no matter who was at fault. In many cases, determining fault requires an extensive investigation or even accident reconstruction. You might believe you were at fault, but you can’t know everything that occurred before and during the accident.  Should I Talk to the Other Insurance Company After an Accident? Whether you believe someone else caused your injuries or not, never talk to another driver’s insurance company. The insurer will likely contact you after an accident and request a recorded statement. Don’t provide a statement until you speak with an attorney. Finally, if the insurance company offers a settlement or wants to discuss any payments to you, call an attorney immediately. Insurers often try to undervalue claims and hope accident victims will accept their offer. If you do, you will likely sign away any rights you have for further compensation. Contact a Virginia Car Accident Lawyer Today for Help After a car accident or any motor vehicle collision, talk to one of the experienced Virginia personal injury attorneys at River Run Law. We are a small, boutique firm that provides exceptional service for our clients. Call now to schedule your no-cost consultation with a Richmond car accident lawyer. You can also contact us online to learn more about your obligations to your insurance company after an accident.

Continue Reading
Car Accident

How to Obtain an Auto Accident Report in Virginia

Following an auto accident in Virginia, either the police or an involved party will file a police report. The Department of Motor Vehicles is the government agency responsible for keeping all accident reports. If the police respond to the accident scene, they will submit their report to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles within 24 hours of completing their investigation. If you are involved in an accident, here is what you need to know about getting a copy of your Virginia accident report. What Does an Accident Report Contain? In Virginia, when law enforcement arrives at the scene of a crash, they have to fill out what is known as Form FR300P. Or in simpler terms it is better known as a “Police Crash Report.”  In this form, police record general information, driver information, passenger information, and vehicle information: General Information Date of the crash or accident,  What day the crash took place, Time the crash took place,  The location of the crash, Any landmarks near the incident, and  How many cars were involved. Driver and Passenger Information The driver’s full name, Driver’s address, License number, The driver’s gender, Insurance company for the for the vehicle, and Any injuries that may have occurred. Vehicle Information  The name of the vehicle owner,  The address of the vehicle owner,  The make, model, and year of the vehicle, The vehicles license plate number, The VIN number, Was the vehicle disabled in any way, Did the vehicle need to be towed? Repair cost estimate, How big the vehicle is, What was the speed right before the accident, The posted speed limit where the crash took place, and Number of passengers and their age range. Crash Information  The weather at the time of the crash,  What type of road the crash occurred on,  Was a traffic controlled device used? I.e stop sign or traffic light, The condition of the road, and  Could there have been any form of distraction. What Other Information will Law Enforcement Collect? Pictures. The officer who arrived on the scene will take any and all photos of the crash scene and the condition of the nevicles involved. Crash Diagram. Police have a space provided on the Police Crash Report where they can draw a diagram of the vehicle damage and why they believe the crash occurred.  Witnesses. They will also take down names and descriptions from any persons that were a witness to the accident. Obtaining Copies of Virginia Traffic Accident Reports The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles maintains official records of all reportable crashes for a minimum of 36 months from the date of the accident. To request a copy of your report, you can submit a completed Information Request Form, called CRD 93, or a written request along with payment. Your request must contain the following information: Your involvement in the crash (driver, vehicle owner, injured party, etc.); Date and time of the accident; Location of the accident, such as the street and city or town and county; Name of the driver in the accident; and Your driver’s license number (mandatory if you were involved in the accident). Submit your request by mail to: Customer Records Work Center, Room 514Virginia Department of Motor VehiclesPost Office Box 27412Richmond, VA 23269 You can also submit your request by fax to 804-367-0390. If you want to request an accident report in person, check the Virginia DMV website for the nearest Customer Service Center to you. Requesting the Report from the Police Department that Responded to the Accident If you wish to get a copy of your report through the police department that responded to the accident, the easiest way is to visit that department’s website and request the report to be sent by mail or if you can pick it up in person.  Accepted Payment Methods for Virginia Car Accident Reports The current fee for requesting a police report is $8. Please note that your payment will not be returned to you if the DMV cannot locate a police report matching the information you submit. That is why it’s crucial to ensure you have as much information as possible and the information you submit is correct. You cannot submit a credit card payment request if you are ordering a police report through the mail. You must include a check or money order. If you are ordering the report via fax, you can submit a completed form DMS 004, “License, ID Card and Records Payment Authorization.” Requests made at a DMV Customer Service Center can be made using a credit card, cash, check, or money order. Who Can Request a Virginia Accident Report? Releasing information in a police report is subject to Code of Virginia Sections 46.2-379 and 46.2-380. Section 46.2-380 allows an accident report to be released to someone involved in the crash or their authorized representative. Involved parties include: Driver or passenger; Other injured person; Attorney representing anyone involved or injured in the collision; Personal representative of an involved person, such as executor or next of kin; Parent or legal guardian of someone under 18 who was injured or killed; or Authorized insurance company representative. Section 46.2-379 allows the DMV to release limited information to someone authorized under state or federal law to access the report. Possible information to be released includes: Name and address of all drivers; Date, location, and time of the collision; Names of all injured parties; Names of all vehicle owners; Names of any witnesses; and The investigating officer’s name. Your attorney can help you access your report and use it to build your accident claim.  Contact a Virginia Car Accident Attorney Were you or someone you love injured in a Virginia auto accident? Let the skilled Richmond car accident attorneys at River Run Law help. Contact our office today to schedule an initial consultation to learn more about how we can protect your rights and assist you in getting the compensation you deserve.

Continue Reading
Car Accident

What to Do After a Car Accident Where You Were Not at Fault

After the shock of experiencing a car accident, it is often difficult to know what to do after a car accident that is not your fault. However, there are multiple steps you can take to protect your legal rights in the immediate aftermath of a car accident. After a car accident when it’s not your fault, knowing what to do feels overwhelming. Contact a personal injury attorney to protect your rights after a car accident.   Steps to Take After a Car Accident  If someone else caused a car accident resulting in you suffering injuries or property damage, you may wish to seek compensation for your losses. Knowing what to do after a car accident that is not your fault may serve to strengthen your claim for damages.  Document the Accident If physically able, document the accident scene to the best of your ability. Documenting includes undertaking the following steps: Take photographs of the vehicles involved and the area around the scene of the accident; Obtain the names, addresses, phone numbers, and insurance information for all drives involved;  Obtain the names and contact information of witnesses to the accident scene; and Write down your recollection of the events leading up to and during the accident.  It’s essential to obtain this information soon after an accident. Memories fade quickly, and recollections become less accurate over time. Additionally, witnesses may be difficult to locate if you do not obtain their information at the scene of the accident.  Seek Medical Assistance A car accident may cause substantial damage to your vehicle but may also cause significant physical injuries. After a car accident, assess your physical state and seek medical assistance as soon as possible. In many situations, your minor injuries may indicate more significant bodily harm. Therefore, always seek the evaluation of a medical professional even if you believe you are unharmed.  Contact Your Insurance Company Contact your insurance agent after a car accident that is not your fault. Notifying your insurance company of an accident allows you to begin the process of recovering. Most importantly, if the at-fault party in your accident is not insured, your insurance company will need to review your uninsured motorist coverage to cover your damages and, possibly, injuries.  Obtain a Copy of the Police Report  If the police reported to the scene of your accident, obtain a copy of the police report prepared by the responding officer. Carefully read over the report ensuring it accurately reflects the sequence of events. When the car accident police report reflects incorrect information, it’s vital to correct that information. A qualified car accident attorney assists clients in obtaining and reviewing car accident police reports to correct any mistakes.  Contact Us  The attorneys at River Run Law understand the devastation you can face after a traumatic car accident. To get back on your feet and on the road to recovery, you need the assistance of qualified legal counsel to work diligently on your behalf. The legal team at River Run Law provides aggressive legal representation to achieve fair financial compensation for our clients. We assist you every step of the way, so you can work on rebuilding your life. Contact us today for a free consultation and review of your legal options.

Continue Reading
Car Accident

How to Get an Accident Report in Richmond, Virginia

If you need to request a Richmond accident report related to an auto accident, you can request it directly from the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. If you need to request an accident report for some other type of accident, you will need to request it through the correct police agency. Obtaining Auto Accident Reports in Richmond, VA To obtain a copy of an auto accident report in Richmond, you can submit a completed Information Request Form (CRD 93) or a written request along with a check or money order for $8. If you don’t use the form, your written request must contain the following details: Date and time of the auto accident; At least one driver’s name; Accident location details, such as street and city or town; Your involvement in the crash (are you the driver, injured party, vehicle owner, etc.); and Your driver’s license number, which is mandatory if you were an involved party. You need to mail your request to: Customer Records Work Center, Room 514 Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles Post Office Box 27412 Richmond, VA 23269 If you want to request your auto accident report in person, you need to visit a DMV Customer Service Center. There are four locations in greater Richmond: West Henrico, Richmond Central, Chesterfield, and East Henrico. If you don’t want to submit your request via mail or in person, you can also fax your forms to (804) 367-0390. Requesting a non-auto Accident Report, Richmond, VA Non-auto accident reports must be requested through the respective law enforcement agency. You must know which agency to request it through because every agency maintains separate records. Once you determine which agency is the correct one, you can choose the request method that works best for you. Most agencies will allow you to request a police report online, through the mail, and over the phone. Some agencies will allow you to request a police report in person too. If you need to request a police report through the Richmond Police Department, you can do so in person or through the mail. To get the police report in person, visit the Richmond Police Department headquarters lobby and go to window 4 of the Richmond Police Information Desk. Richmond Police headquarters is located at 200 West Grace Street. You can also fill out a form and mail it along with your $5 payment. Address your mail request to: RPD Records Unit 200 West Grace Street Richmond, VA 23220 You must use a money order or draft; they will not accept personal checks. The $5 should be payable to the City of Richmond. Try to include the incident number and all pertinent details. If they cannot locate a report with the information you provide, they will return your payment along with an explanation.   Contact a Richmond Personal Injury Lawyer Are you requesting a police report or an auto accident report for an injury accident you were involved in? If so, you may need a legal advocate on your side. The Richmond personal injury lawyers at River Run Law can help you fight for the compensation you deserve. We routinely represent clients who were injured due to another party’s negligence. To learn more about our services, contact River Run Law today to schedule an initial consultation.

Continue Reading
Car Accident

Texting While Driving Overview

One of the biggest distractions of our time is cell phones. However, texting while driving causes many accidents each year across Virginia. Many may not understand the danger of distracted driving. However, the consequences of texting while driving can be catastrophic. If you suffered injury in a car accident due to a driver texting and driving, contact an experienced personal injury attorney today to begin your road to recovery.  What Are the Texting and Driving Laws in Virginia?  The Virginia texting and driving law provides that it is illegal to operate any motor vehicle while using any handheld communication device to communicate or read an email or text message sent to you. However, the law does not prohibit most individuals from using a mounted handheld device to speak via Bluetooth and to use for navigation. However, the texting and driving law imposes different restrictions for different age groups. For example:  All drivers are banned from texting while driving; Drivers under the age of 18 and bus drivers are prohibited from any cell phone usage while driving; and  Drivers over the age of 18 may use their phones while driving as long as they are not sending or receiving text messages.  Fines exist for violating the Virginia texting and driving laws. However, the bigger danger lies in the potential harm to others caused by distracted driving.  What Are the Dangers of Texting and Driving?  Texting while driving causes multiple accidents per year. The three categories of distracted driving caused by texting and driving include the following: Visual. Looking down at a phone and off the road and surroundings may cause potentially catastrophic consequences in mere seconds. When a person takes their eyes off the road for only five seconds when going 55 miles per hour, the individual may drive the length of a football field.  Manual. If someone takes their hands off their steering wheel to send or receive a text message, this impairs their ability to control the vehicle. They may be unprepared to handle a sharp turn, sudden brake, or other vehicles.  Cognitive. A distraction from a text message not only physically takes attention away from driving but also mentally takes away attention. Cognitive distractions reduce one’s ability to react to changes in the road or other driver behaviors. Texting and driving accidents occur every day. If you’ve suffered injuries and property damage due to distracted driving, contact an experienced personal injury attorney to assess your rights.  What to Do After Texting and Driving Accidents Immediately following an accident involving distracted driving, there are multiple steps to take to protect your rights. These steps include the following: Seek medical attention;  File a police report; Take photos of the accident scene;  Obtain the name, contact information, and insurance information of the other parties involved in the accident; Obtain the names and contact information for any witnesses to the accident; and  Contact a personal injury attorney.  If the other driver was texting while driving and caused your accident, consult with a personal injury attorney and review your legal options. A personal injury attorney assists in filing a personal injury claim or lawsuit to recover your damages. Contact Us Those involved in texting and driving accidents should not get away with harming others as a result of their unlawful choices. People are injured every year due to distracted driving. When you hire an experienced personal injury attorney from River Run Law, you hire an aggressive and passionate advocate working to protect your rights. If you suffer injury in an accident caused by texting while driving, we can assist in analyzing your case and work to obtain the compensation you deserve. Contact the attorneys at River Run Law today for a free consultation to review your legal options with our team! 

Continue Reading
Car Accident

How Much Will a Car Accident Lawyer Cost Me (in Virginia)

We Discuss the Question and Give You Insight On: How Much Does a Injury Lawyer Cost? In Virginia, you have the right to pursue monetary compensation for injuries you suffered in a car accident caused by the wrongful acts of another. Indeed, you will want to get the most money possible for any settlement, and you should. After suffering painful and debilitating injuries that have kept you out of work and left you in dire financial straits, the desire to make the other person pay for your loss is perfectly natural.  A larger settlement will not make your physical and emotional pain go away, but it will make your life a little easier. You may think that one way to get the most out of your settlement is by handling the claim yourself instead of hiring a lawyer. If that is the case, you need to ask the top Virginia car accident lawyer; how much a car accident lawyer costs in Virginia? The answer might surprise you. Virginia Car Accident Lawyers Explain Fees Lawyers have three options when charging fees for their services. Depending on the attorney’s practice area, level of expertise, and other factors, an attorney can charge an hourly rate of $250 or more. Attorneys who charge hourly rates take a retainer from their clients and then charge down that retainer for costs and fees at the end of each month. Alternatively, lawyers can charge a flat fee for services. Either of these options means that you must dig into your pocket and pay for a lawyer’s services with your hard-earned money.  Virginia car accident attorneys charge their clients on a contingency fee basis. In its simplest terms, the fee is contingent upon you winning a settlement from the case. The lawyer does not get paid if you do not win your case. Therefore, they have an incentive to fight to protect their rights. Advantages of a Contingency Fee Arrangement The contingency fee arrangement is advantageous to you and your attorney. This benefits you because you do not have to spend any money out of pocket to hire an attorney. You and your attorney agree on the contingency percentage. Your attorney will deduct the fee from your settlement.  Additionally, a top-notch Virginia auto accident lawyer will advance your litigation costs. That means you do not have to pay out of pocket for: Filing fees,  Medical records duplication fees,  Deposition fees,  Transcripts, and  Expert witness fees.  Your lawyer will explain that the costs associated with pursuing a car accident claim may be necessary to spend in your situation so that you could make a more persuasive claim. You would have to pay these costs if you represented yourself. Contingency fees also act as an incentive to your attorney to do everything in their power to maximize your award. In other words, they make more money if you win more money. Furthermore, your attorney does not have to worry about billing you for services rendered. As a result, your attorney can focus more on building a strong case for you. Contingency fees ultimately promote justice. Contingency fees allow accident victims to have the services of a passionate Virginia car accident lawyer regardless of their net worth. Without these arrangements, injured people who do not have enough money to hire a lawyer might not pursue a claim for damages. Remember, justice is for everyone and not just for those with money. Other Issues to Consider If You Are Concerned About How Much Does a Car Accident Lawyer Cost in Virginia An exceptional Virginia car accident lawyer knows how to get the largest settlement for you. Getting the largest settlement for you obligates your attorney to: Gather all of the evidence available in your case including, photographs, accident reports, witness statements, and other evidence from the accident scene; Interact with the other driver’s insurance company on your behalf (they cannot speak to you if you have a lawyer); Review all your evidence with you; Retain expert witnesses if necessary;  Negotiate a settlement for you;  File a case in court if a just settlement is not reached; Ensure you comply with the statute of limitations; and Ensure that all your medical bills and other costs from your accident are paid from the proceeds. The best Virginia car accident lawyers take the time to ensure that you and your family receive the care you need. We want you to return your life to the way it was before your accident. Without an exceptional car accident lawyer from Virginia, you would have to worry about all these issues on your own while trying to get your life back on track.  Contact Experienced Car Accident Lawyers from Virginia Today At River Run Law, we proudly serve our clients’ best interests. We want every person victimized by the wrongful actions of another to experience justice. Call our firm today at 804-889-0500 or visit our website to schedule a free consultation. We would be happy to answer all questions,  including, How much does a car accident lawyer cost in Virginia? Let us help you win a just and fair settlement for your Virginia car accident claim.

Continue Reading
Car Accident

Is it Important That I Hire a Car Accident Lawyer Who Is Near Me?

Although you always hope it won’t happen to you, you never know when you might be involved in a car accident. In fact, there are approximately 6 million car accidents in the U.S. each year. So what do you do if you are injured in a car accident in or near Richmond, Virginia?  It’s no secret that involvement in a car accident can result in severe injuries, both physical and emotional. And often, the process toward recovery can be long and daunting.  If you or a loved one has sustained injuries in a car accident in Virginia, we want to help.  Regardless of precisely where your accident occurred, River Run Law has the tools, resources, and experience necessary to fight for your rights. And while we are located in Richmond, VA, our car accident attorneys have helped clients throughout the Commonwealth on their pathway to recovery. So don’t wait—contact us today to discuss your case and see how we can help you. So How Important Is It Really That I Hire a Car Accident Lawyer Near Me?  These days, many people know that hiring an attorney can be a great first step toward pursuing valuable compensation in the aftermath of a serious accident. But many accident victims still wonder, Is it important that I hire a car accident lawyer who is near me in proximity?  It is certainly important to hire an attorney for your case who is licensed in your state. However, you may not necessarily have to hire the closest firm to you—especially in today’s day and age, where technology continues to advance and doing things virtually and remotely has become more and more common. Thus, when you are searching for the right firm for your car accident case, physical proximity should not be the only factor you consider in making your decision. Rather, here are some additional qualities and characteristics to look for in selecting a car accident attorney:  General litigation experience;  Experience handling car accident cases, specifically;  Ability to negotiate effectively on your behalf; and  Willingness to put you, the client, first above all else.  So while there may be some benefit to having an attorney that is near you, it is not everything. Make sure to select a lawyer for your car accident only after taking into account all other relevant factors as well.  How a Car Accident Attorney Can Help Some people mistakenly believe that hiring an attorney for a car accident case is a waste of money. Instead, they may attempt to save money by negotiating with insurance companies and navigating the case on their own. However, this is successful less often than you might think. A personal injury attorney who handles car accident cases day in and day out knows what to expect and will be able to more effectively and efficiently handle your claim on your behalf. An experienced car accident lawyer can help you:  Gather facts and evidence; Analyze your case and explain your legal options moving forward; Determine what damages you may be entitled to recover; Negotiate with opposing parties and their insurance companies;  Draft and file any necessary court paperwork; and Prepare for and take your case to trial when necessary.  Don’t feel like you have to handle your car accident case alone. In fact, hiring an attorney can help you save time and money in the long run.  Why Should I Hire River Run Law? With so many attorneys to choose from, you may be wondering, Why should I choose River Run Law over another car accident lawyer near me?  At River Run Law, we are prepared to travel throughout Virginia to provide well-deserved legal representation to those in need. No matter where you are located, you can count on us to provide quality services for your car accident case. Here are a few things that we believe set River Run Law apart from the rest: We have an entire practice area dedicated exclusively to helping car accident victims in need;  Our attorneys have decades of combined experience handling complex legal matters;  We operate our firm with the utmost professionalism while also striving to provide a relaxed and stress-free process for our clients; and  We are honored to have received many positive reviews and testimonials from our former clients.  If you are searching for a law firm that will fight zealously for your rights, look no further than River Run Law.  Contact Our Team of Personal Injury Attorneys Today Being involved in a car accident can be scary. And dealing with the aftermath can be complicated, stressful, and emotionally draining. Let us take some of the weight off your shoulders.  No matter where in Virginia you are located, River Run Law is standing by and ready to help. We are available in person or by phone, email, or video conference. So contact us today for a free consultation. Let’s discuss your case and see what we can do to help you recover.

Continue Reading
Truck Accident

How Long Does It Take to Settle a Semi-Truck Accident in Virginia?

If you or a loved one suffered injuries in a truck accident, you may be wondering how long it takes to settle a semi-truck accident. People involved in truck accidents can suffer life-threatening injuries and leave victims with long-term or permanent issues.  Injuries sustained in truck accidents often require significant medical procedures and rehabilitation to heal properly. Unfortunately, medical expenses pile up quickly in these cases. A Virginia truck accident attorney can help you recover the compensation you deserve for your injuries and other damages. Contact us today for a free consultation.  Semi-Truck Accidents in Virginia Virginia traffic statistics indicate that 2,484 traffic collisions involving large trucks occurred in 2019. Forty-eight of the accidents involving large trucks resulted in a fatality. The majority of Virginia’s large truck collisions occurred in Fairfax County.  Injuries in Truck Accidents A semi-truck pulling an empty trailer weighs approximately 35,000 lbs. Passenger vehicles, on the other hand, weigh between 2,750 lbs and 4,000 lbs. The weight discrepancy between the two leads to devastating consequences in the event of a collision. Common injuries seen in semi-truck accidents include: Traumatic brain injury, Broken bones, Whiplash, Spinal cord injuries, Burns, Abrasions, Nerve injuries, Internal organ damage, Dislocated joints, Paralysis, and Loss of limbs. The size and magnitude of semi-trucks impact every accident that involves one. If you suffered injuries in a collision with a semi-truck in Virginia, contact River Run Law today for a free consultation.  What Damages Are Available to Truck Accident Victims? Victims of truck accidents are entitled to seek compensatory damages designed to cover the economic and non-economic losses you suffered because of the accident. Recovering damages can help you and your family pay the bills and expenses associated with semi-truck accidents. Economic damages can include: Current and future medical expenses; Loss of earning capacity; Childcare expenses; Property damage to your vehicle; and Rehabilitation costs. The court requires proof of these damages for compensation to be awarded.  Non-economic damages include: Pain and suffering, Physical disfigurement, Loss of consortium, and Mental anguish. Severe accidents can result in significant awards of non-economic damages.  In cases of extreme negligence or wrongdoing, courts award punitive damages that are designed to punish the party responsible for the accident.  The River Run Law team will fight to guarantee you receive the compensation you are owed. Common Causes of Semi-Truck Accidents in Virginia Commercial accidents account for 3.8% of all vehicle crashes in Virginia.  Virginia defines commercial vehicle as a vehicle that: Has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross combination weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more; Is designed or used to transport nine or more people; or Is displaying a hazardous materials placard. Thus, semi-trucks operating in Virginia are considered commercial vehicles. Overall, 4,922 accidents occurred involving commercial vehicles in Virginia in 2019. The most common factors contributing to commercial vehicle accidents include: Improper lane change, Following too closely, Failure to yield, Distracted driving, Driver fatigue, Ignoring traffic signs or signals, Improper backing, Improper turn, and Speeding. Truck accidents occur for a multitude of reasons, many of which are purely accidental. However, when accidents are caused by another person’s negligence, they should be held responsible. The nature of the truck driving business enhances the risk of negligence occurring. Trucking companies incentivize quick delivery times. Therefore, truck drivers aim to beat deadlines and arrive ahead of schedule. Unfortunately, some drivers place speed over safety. Virginia Truck Driver Regulations The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) imposes hours-of-service regulations on commercial truck drivers in an attempt to curb driver negligence. The regulations include: An 11-hour driving limit after 10 consecutive hours off duty for property-carrying drivers; A 10-hour driving limit after 10 consecutive hours off duty for passenger-carrying drivers; A mandated 30-minute driving break for every 8 hours of driving for property-carrying drivers; Property-carrying drivers are prohibited from working more than fourteen consecutive hours; and Passenger-carrying drivers are prohibited from working more than fifteen consecutive hours.  Despite these regulations, trucking companies offer bonuses to drivers who meet high mileage quotas and encourage long hours and work weeks. In accidents involving semi-trucks, multiple factors may exist that contributed to the collision. A semi-truck accident attorney can help you determine which parties should be held liable. Who Is Liable in Truck Accidents? Semi-truck accidents present complexities that do not often exist in regular car accident cases, including the possibility that multiple parties are liable for your injuries.  Truck Driver The most obvious party facing liability is the truck driver. Hundreds of thousands of accidents occur every year due to operator error. Truck drivers make mistakes just like regular drivers, and when those mistakes cause you to suffer injuries, the driver can be held liable. Trucking Company Semi-trucks and their attached trailers are typically owned by the company that employs the truck driver. Thus, issues stemming from improper maintenance of the semi-truck itself could fall on the company, rather than the driver. Proper maintenance of semi-trucks prevents issues like worn tires and defective breaks that lead to hundreds of accidents every year.  Additionally, trucking companies employing drivers must ensure that the drivers meet necessary qualifications. For example, semi-truck drivers must possess a commercial driver’s license (CDL) to legally operate a commercial vehicle. A trucking company allowing an employee without a CDL to operate a commercial vehicle would be considered negligent.  As previously mentioned, the FMCSA passed regulations designed to reduce truck driver fatigue while driving. Trucking companies are prohibited from disregarding the regulations or encouraging their employees to disobey the regulations. Proof that a trucking company influenced a driver to go against FMCSA regulations could result in liability for the company in the event of an accident.  Accepting a Settlement Offer After a Truck Accident Most truck accident cases settle before entering a courtroom. After investigating your case, we will present a demand to the insurance company for the party liable in the accident. We will negotiate with the insurance company on your behalf, convincing them that we will not settle for a penny less than you deserve. In most cases, […]

Continue Reading